University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute (UPCI)

Program Members

Thomas W. Kensler, PhD Thomas W. Kensler, PhD (Co-Leader)
Email: tkensler@pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Cancer prevention; cancer pharmacology; signal transduction

View More

Jian-Min Yuan, MD, PhD Jian-Min Yuan, MD, PhD (Co-Leader)
Email: yuanj@upmc.edu
Research Keywords:
Gene-environment interaction in cancer etiology; cancer biomarkers; cancer risk prediction; dietary chemopreventive agents; cancer epidemiology; cancer prevention; clinical trials

View More

Randall Brand, MD Randall Brand, MD
Email: brandre@upmc.edu
Research Keywords:
Hereditary pancreatic cancer; early detection of pancreatic cancer; pancreatitis; colon cancer

View More

Clareann H. Bunker, PhD Clareann H. Bunker, PhD
Email: bunkerc@pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Prostate cancer; ovarian cancer; molecular epidemiology; obesity; blood pressure; hypertension

View More

Lesley Butler, MSPH, PhD Lesley Butler, MSPH, PhD
Email: butlerl3@upmc.edu
Research Keywords:
Cancer epidemiology; diet; breast cancer; ovarian cancer; urinary biomarkers; lung cancer; population-based research

View More

Jane A. Cauley, DrPH Jane A. Cauley, DrPH
Email: jcauley@pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Breast cancer; epidemiology; sex hormones; osteoporosis

View More

Brenda Diergaarde, PhD Brenda Diergaarde, PhD
Email: diergaardeb@upmc.edu
Research Keywords:
Role of environmental factors, genetic variation and gene-environment interactions in the development, progression and treatment of cancer; molecular and genetic epidemiology

View More

Mary Ganguli, MD, MPH Mary Ganguli, MD, MPH
Email: gangulim@upmc.edu
Research Keywords:
Aging; epidemiology

View More

Jing Hu, MD, PhD Jing Hu, MD, PhD
Email: huj3@upmc.edu
Research Keywords:
Protein kinases and phosphatases; post-translational modifications; sumoylation; histone deacetylases; cancer biology

View More

Lewis H. Kuller, MD, DrPH Lewis H. Kuller, MD, DrPH
Email: kuller@pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Epidemiology of breast cancer and aging, HIV and chronic diseases; dementia; preventive medicine

View More

Anna Lokshin, PhD Anna Lokshin, PhD
Email: lokshina@upmc.edu
Research Keywords:
Biomarkers for cancer diagnostics; biomarkers for cancer therapy monitoring; chemotherapy and stem cells response

View More

Gary M. Marsh, PhD Gary M. Marsh, PhD
Email: gmarsh+@pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Occupational and environmental epidemiology; long-term health effects of workforce exposure to pharmacological and preservation agents

View More

Stephen J.D. O'Keefe, MD, MSc Stephen J.D. O'Keefe, MD, MSc
Email: okeefes@dom.pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Nutrition and disease; colon cancer; acute pancreatitis

View More

Robert E. Schoen, MD, MPH Robert E. Schoen, MD, MPH
Email: schoen@msx.dept-med.pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Early detection and prevention of colorectal cancer (CRC); flexible sigmoidoscopy; acceptability and implementation of CRC screening; surveillance colonoscopy; relationship of insulin/insulin-like growth factors to adenomatous polyps and CRC

View More

Shivendra Singh, PhD Shivendra Singh, PhD
Email: singhs@upmc.edu
Research Keywords:
Cancer pharmacology; drug discovery; chemoprevention; dietary anti-cancer compounds; isothiocynates; organosulides; withaferin A; cancer prevention

View More

Evelyn O. Talbott, DrPH, MPH Evelyn O. Talbott, DrPH, MPH
Email: eot1@pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Environmental tracking; air pollution and health risk

View More

David C. Whitcomb, MD, PhD David C. Whitcomb, MD, PhD
Email: whitcomb@pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Mechanisms of complex disorders including acute pancreatitis, chronic pancreatitis, and pancreatic cancer

View More

Joseph M. Zmuda, PhD Joseph M. Zmuda, PhD
Email: zmudaj@edc.pitt.edu
Research Keywords:
Genetic and molecular epidemiology of common complex diseases; osteoporosis; aging

View More